Be the Dog

30 10 2010

A sermon based on Matthew 15:21-28.

 

Be the Dog (click to download or listen)

It is with some trepidation that I post this audio sermon recorded more than two years ago. I am reminded of the text whenever I am surprised by the “treatment” I’m receiving from the Lord. And the theme is one I’ll never forget because many members have quoted it back to me over the years. It doesn’t help that I also tried preaching this same sermon at a pastoral conference, and the host pastor still reminds me how he brought my manuscript back to me afterward with a wry smile on his face. Why? Because his dog had taken a bite out of it.

Despite this sermon’s colorful history, however, the Lord has comforted me many times through many difficulties by reminding me about what I learned as I prepared it. I pray that it is encouraging to others, as well.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 12 2010
Janice Bolen- East Tawas

I hope you and your family are doing ok…I don’t understand your departure from MLS, but have kept you all in my thoughts and prayers. You are a gifted teacher and pastor, even though we have had our difference of opinion….I hope you find your calling in the future to come, even if now you have to “Be the Dog” ….may the Lord be with you always…..Janice Bolen

3 12 2010
Aaron Frey

Thanks, Jan. I truly cannot tell you what that means. The Lord be with you and your family as well.

Leave a Reply

